I blame myself

I was fantasizing fireworks 

That’s probably why it hurts 

You had expectations I could never meet 

They just weren’t me

I had reservations so we could get a seat

We never even made it out the door.

All these pointless arguments 

We once believed each other was heaven sent.

Too many times I called you out of your name.

Too many times you ignored what I had to say

Too many nights spent passing the blame

And finally I realized we would never change.

Tragedy is the realization that we’re used to the pain. 

I still want the best for you

I just need to protect myself

I learned lessons too

Ones about myself.

There is no guilt to be carried

It just didn’t work out

I always thought we’d be married 

So of course it hurts now 

Every fiber of ours was intertwined 

I grab my sheets at night 

Because it’s weird when your hand

doesn’t fall into mine

I’m losing my way…

I’m losing my faith…


Comments

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started